Monday, 1 November 2010

Kindle news, blog news and some free books

Hi, I hope you had a great, productive weekend. This week a lot has happened in the world of the Kindle including an update to the agency pricing for UK books; we also have some Great Kindle Deals blog news and finally a couple of free quick ebooks.

Agency pricing on Amazon UK: has lost its fight with three major publishers, which are now setting ebook prices for themselves. Publishers Hachette, HarperCollins and Penguin now setting their own e-book prices and if you are about to buy an ebook which has been priced according to the agency model Amazon displays on their page the message: "This price was set by the publisher."

This has caused outcry on the Amazon UK forums, as certain books have sky-rocked by more than 3 times in price such as "Just After Sunset" which now costs £17.99 as opposed to a £5 price tag just a few days ago. Almost all books by these publishers have risen in price.
What do you think? Comment on the blog or send us your comments by replying to this email.

So, let's support independent publishers - I'd like to get recommendations from readers who have read books written by independents and they compile a list of the best to put in the newsletter in the near future. If you have a book to suggest, please reply back to this email with the suggestion or email us at

Great Kindle Deals:
1. Great news - Amazon has decreased the price of a blog subscription to "Great Kindle Deals" on the Kindle from £1.99 to 99p a month.  Sign up for the free 14-day trial here to help support us, and help us reach the Top 10 most subscribed blogs on Kindle.
2. GKD Mailbag - We would love to hear your opinions on stories, on books, on accessories or any comments or questions you have about the Kindle or the blog, including what you'd like to see more or less of. Please write in to us at and I'd like to share some of the emails I receive with you, the subscribers, and share the knowledge!

A couple more free books:
1. Blood lines
Rated 3/5 stars average from 5 reviews.

Synopsis: "Blood is thicker than water -- and far more deadly ! A woman is lured to a remote spot in the Scottish Highlands and strangled almost to the point of death. As she begs for mercy, her tormentor begins to carve her face, before burying her alive. In Edinburgh, unorthodox young lawyer Brodie McLennan becomes tangled up in the case. When it emerges that Brodie was the last person to see the victim and crucial evidence is found at her flat, she must fight to clear her name - and save her own skin. Meanwhile in an asylum in Inverness, a deranged patient writes the name Brodie over and over in her own blood! As another mutilated body is discovered bearing the same ritualistic markings, Brodie is running scared from unknown forces, eager to see blood on her hands! Prepared to be shocked in this dark and gripping thriller, for fans of Ian Rankin and Mo Hayder!"

2. In praise of savagery

Synopsis: "One man’s journey in the footsteps of a great explorer into the heart of Africa. As a young man, Warwick Cairns met the then elderly explorer Wilfred Thesiger and the two men struck up an unlikely friendship. Invited to visit him at his African home, Cairns decides to make a bit of an adventure of it and do some of the journey on foot. When he himself was a young man, Thesiger led an expedition to explore the course of the Awash river in Ethiopia. Every westerner that had gone before him had been killed by local tribesmen. Needless to say, he survived. Alternating chapters chart Warwick’s journey with that of Thesiger creating a captivating dual narrative that is part travel book, part biography, part autobiography, part history with fair doses of philosophy and humour thrown in for good measure.In Praise of Savagery is a highly original book that defies classification but is always effortlessly readable."

No comments:

Post a Comment